Binder leads KTM super Sunday sweep

Sunday Moto2™ Wrap

Brad Binder and Jorge Martin celebrate in Parc Ferme after the Moto2 race at the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix 2019

Brad Binder has kept his hopes of a Moto2™ title alive with a brilliant all-the-way win at the Pramac Generac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix 2019.

For the second time in three years, the orange Red Bull KTMs ran away from the Moto2™ field, with teammate Jorge Martin running right behind the South African at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit.

Martin looked to have speed in hand during the race, but clearly played a supporting role to Binder, who moved up to third in the Moto2™ championship points with the victory.

Coming to Australia second in the points, Moto2™ veteran Tom Luthi charged his way through the field to take third place on his Dynavolt Kalex, well ahead of pole-sitter Jorge Navarro, who made ground late in the race on his Beta Tools SpeedUp.

Lorenzo Baldassarri was fifth after making a lot of early ground from P18 on the grid on his Flexbox HP 40 Kalex, while sixth place was a good result for Remy Gardner. 

The Australian had a race of two halves. For the opening 10 laps he made ground from 13th on the grid and moved up to fifth, but as his tyres wore in he dropped back, eventually finishing just under nine seconds behind the winner.

Iker Lecuona had a troubled day on the way to seventh. On the opening lap he ran too deep into Turn 4 and hit Marco Bezzecchi and Luca Marini. While Lecuona was able to continue after taking a penalty, Marini’s hopes of a third consecutive Moto2™ win were over after only 30 seconds.

Championship leader Alex Marquez clearly struggled for race pace. The Spaniard dropped back through the pack before righting the ship in the closing laps, getting back up to eighth place.

The teams now move to the 18th round of the championship with Marquez facing three challengers for the title - Luthi, Binder and Navarro.

Moto2™ Classification

1. Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo)
2. Jorge Martin (Red Bull KTM Ajo)
3. Thomas Luthi (Dynavolt Intact GP)
4. Jorge Navarro (Beta Tools Speed Up)
5. Lorenzo Baldassarri (FLEXBOX HP 40)

Follow the Action