Phillip Island Championship decider

Australia's top superbike and supersport riders will be fighting for their own bragging rights this weekend in the second and final round of the 2015 Phillip Island Championship.

The opener to the series was played out way back in February on the Superbike World Championship undercard, with Team Honda pair Josh Hook and Troy Herfoss sharing first and second places, with Kawasaki's Mike Jones in third.

With reigning Phillip Island superbike champion Hook on Moto2 world championship duties this weekend, deputising for injured Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter, Herfoss is in prime position to clinch the 2015 championship.

That said, Herfoss won't be able to canter in the three eight-lap races, as the Yamaha factory squad of Wayne Maxwell, Glenn Allerton and Cru Halliday is making a rare appearance at Phillip Island.

Maxwell, in particular, is a potent force around the 4.448km GP circuit, having won plenty of races in Honda and Suzuki colours over the last five years — and he'd love to hit the jackpot with Yamaha on his first attempt.

Meanwhile, Jones, the 2015 Aussie superbike champion, will be ready and waiting to pounce for championship honours if Herfoss slips up.

Herfoss and Hook are on 45pts apiece after round one, from Jones (36) and Linden Magee (Honda, 34).

Over 20 riders will compete in the superbike races, while over in supersport Yamaha pair Michael Blair and Callum Spriggs look set to reprise their February battles, where they went 1-2 in the two races. Blair starts round two with a  maximum of 50pts from Spriggs (40) and Ryan Taylor (Yamaha, 33).

The opening superbike race will be at 5:05pm on Friday, followed by supersport at 5:35pm.

Follow the Action