This website uses cookies for analytics and personalised content. View our Privacy Policy for more information on cookies.
Skip to main content

Day 3: Title fighters face a battle at Phillip Island

Sunday, 16 October 2022

The final day at the Island.

The three contenders for the MotoGP™ title will start behind two of the fastest riders in the sport, who will not be restrained by title ambitions at Sunday’s Animoca Brands Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix 2022.

Spaniards Jorge Martin (Ducati) and Marc Marquez (Honda) dominated Saturday’s Qualifying session and will take a power of beating while the three title contenders keep one eye on each other. Ducati’s Pecco Bagnaia, Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo and Aprilia ace Aleix Espargaro will start immediately behind the pair, and while each will be trying to win, their other priority must be to avoid making mistakes.


Australian Jack Miller still has faint title hopes, but nothing less than a win on home soil will keep him in the fight in the final two rounds of the season in Malaysia and Spain, so you can count on a 100 per cent effort from the Townsville racer.

“We’re going to need their [the fans] support, the more fingers crossed, the better!” he said.

It's your last chance to secure Grandstand tickets to Race Day at the Animoca Brands Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix 2022.

In Moto2, a battle royal is shaping up between the numerically dominant Kalexes and the two SpeedUp Boscoscuros.

Fermin Aldeguer took his second career Moto2 pole position, while SpeedUp teammate Alonso Lopez will start third, though he faces serving a Long Lap Penalty for a riding infringement during Practice.

The Spanish pair are split by countryman Augusto Fernandez (Red Bull Ajo Kalex). The latter is fighting with Ai Ogura for the Moto2 title, and the Japanese star will start well back 13th position.

The race for Moto3 honours appears to be a matter of who can lay a glove on Ayumu Sasaki, who had a relatively large advantage of 0.187s in Qualifying. The only man who came close to the Japanese flyer on the Husqvarna was Sergio Garcia (GasGas), while Ivan Ortola (KTM) was 0.725s off pole in third place.

Points leader Izan Guevara will start from seventh, while Darwin racer Joel Kelso will line up 14th on his KTM and will be looking to move quickly into the top 10.